Rébecca Dautremer

his/her website

Still graphic design student at the decorative arts of Paris, Rébecca Dautremer began working in the mid-1990s as an illustrator for the Gautier-Langueau publishing house where she realizes her first works: Coloring notebooks. While the illustration of a first album is entrusted to him, then a second … his trait becomes precise and his style can be fine.

With the book the lover (2003), Rébecca finds his “way of painting and putting the color” and conquers the heart of the public. It has ceased to develop its universe, affecting close to that of tales (Babayaga, princesses forgotten or unknown, the secret newspaper of the little poucet) and revisiting classics of literature (Cyrano, Alice in Wonderland) or contemporary novels (silk).

With one of his latest projects, Rébecca Dautremer even tackles the most famous of all books, the Bible (2014). In a spirit of both respect and full freedom, the illustrator pushes the boundaries of his art: a work as fascinating as virtuoso. With the rich hours of Jacominus Gainsborough, Rebecca creates for the first time characters inspired by the animal world.

Rébecca Dautremer

son site

Encore étudiante en graphisme aux Arts Décoratifs de Paris, Rébecca Dautremer commence à travailler au milieu des années 1990 comme illustratrice pour la maison d’édition Gautier-Languereau où elle réalise ses premiers travaux : des cahiers de coloriages. Alors qu’on lui confie l’illustration d’un premier album, puis d’un second… son trait se précise et son style s’affine.

Avec le livre L’amoureux (2003), Rébecca trouve sa « façon de peindre et de poser la couleur » et conquiert le cœur du public. Elle ne cesse depuis de développer son univers, touchant de près à celui des contes (Babayaga, Princesses oubliées ou inconnues, Le journal secret du Petit Poucet) et revisitant des classiques de la littérature (Cyrano, Alice au pays des merveilles) ou encore des romans contemporains (Soie).

Avec l’un de ses derniers projets, Rébecca Dautremer s’attaque même au plus célèbre de tous les livres, la Bible (2014). Dans un esprit tout à la fois de respect et d’entière liberté, l’illustratrice repousse les frontières de son art : un travail aussi fascinant que virtuose. Avec Les Riches Heures de Jacominus Gainsborough, Rébecca crée pour la première fois des personnages inspirés du monde animal.